Belated History Poke

Well that week went by quickly. I’ve been considering renting some sort of server to host this blog and any files I want to put up for download, especially since wordpress here won’t let me embed .swf files in my posts or elsewhere. I won’t be getting around to that immediately though, so for now I’ll just post a link to my old kongregate profile.

Here you can find the three large flash game projects I completed in the last few years before I came to university.

UFO: Noir was the first large game I released. This began with an experimental control mechanism that I pieced together during a spare moment in highschool. A lot of people found the controls frustrating when coupled with challenging levels, but I’m still rather pleased with the variety of obstacles I came up with for this concept.

UFO: ATK began as another experimental control mechanism, this time for a sidescrolling shooter. Since the controls and theme were similar, I decided to make this a spinoff of UFO: Noir. I recently played this through again, and I will concede that the controls are frustrating at first. Once you learn to aim, however, it feels fairly natural, and the bosses are rather shiny!

Jetpack Paladin is the latest. I went for a retro theme with this game and really put my back out making pixel art, tiles, interesting enemies, epic bosses, and tons of levels. It took the best part of a year to put together alongside my college studies and other hobbies, but the reception was ultimately disappointing owing to the difficulty level and amount of dialogue. Still, if you go into it expecting a story based action-adventure-platformer with some challenging levels, I think you’ll be pleased.

I have a couple of other things I’d like to mention, but I’ll leave that till another post.

Your thoughts:

