Pastry3D: 20% Cooler

I made a promise to myself that I’d post about this when it was done, so now I am doing so – a little over a half-hour since getting it running.

Pastry3D is taking strides. No more wireframes for me – no siree – my software renderer can now take every little triangle in a model and spit it back at you with ambient, directional and point diffuse lighting, smooth, smooth, Gouraud shading, and z-buffering! It’s been about seven weeks now working on Pastry3D alongside my other university projects, and while I’m sure that with what I know now I could get back to this stage much faster than that, there’s still a certain satisfaction to be had in looking at a nicely rendered 3D model rotating on a screen and knowing that you did it all – right down to the pixel plotting.

Now, there are probably a few technical points I should discuss here about Pastry3D – the structure, the interpolation and triangle rasterization methods, etc – but I thought it’d be much nicer to give you a picture of a pony to look at instead. If you really want to know how it works, you can click the pony to get to the Pastry3D page.

 

Your thoughts:

