year 2013 {

So I’ve been down in London for about five months now, and it’s been about that long since I last posted here. The reason for that is because I honestly haven’t a lot to show for that time; work takes up the majority of my waking hours, and frankly after staring at alien code for so long every weekday it’s hard to conjure up the motivation to do the same in my free time, putting pay to what has been my primary hobby for the last four or so years. All in all I’ve felt a bit overwhelmed  so far, something I hope to cope better with in this new year.

Being in London I have taken the opportunity to go about and see a few of the sites, though I’m being rather careful with my finances at the moment because London rent is insane. I’ve been over to Camden, Shoreditch, Wimbledon town, and have walked along the Thames on multiple occasions, most notably when I went over to the Waterloo region of it for the Mayor’s Thames Festival. I have some nice photographs of these things which I may append to this post, or put up elsewhere, but being in London has been generally uneventful so far.

Back at the flat I have managed to push ahead with a few of my interests. I’ve written a lot more Lang-8 entries in my time here, and gotten a lot more Korean grammar points into my skull, but the few opportunities to speak to Korean people and consume Korean media have shown that my chief obstacles are still listening and vocabulary. I’ve not progressed with drawing and digital art as much as I’d like, though doodling at work during compiles and loading, and a weekly ‘contest’ of sorts with a friend have helped to improve my confidence and get me settled into my tablet.

I have done some programming, mostly in the form of the two (failed) Ludum Dare attempts I’ve made – both times setting my aims too high and giving in shortly before the deadline, but the majority of my programming experience over the last five months has been simply building on my knowledge of compiler, linker, and platform discrepancies through tedious debugging work at the office. I’ve also dealt with a few scripting languages including bash, zsh and perl, and had the ‘opportunity’ to get to grips with Mac UI development with the Cocoa API.

I’ll finish up this long and uninteresting post with links to my Ludum Dare-attempt postmortems, and a few photographs I’ve taken around London. Best of luck for 2013 – whoever you are.

Links
Ludum Dare 24
Ludum Dare 25

Shinies

연희당 팔산대 (Yeonheedan Palsandae) at the Mayor's Thames Festival 2012

연희당 팔산대 (Yeonheedan Palsandae) at the Mayor’s Thames Festival 2012

Building adornment near Waterloo station

Building adornment near Waterloo station

Stables market in Camden

Stables market in Camden

Camden Lock

Camden Lock

Accidental couple shot at the Mayor's Thames Festival 2012

Accidental couple shot at the Mayor’s Thames Festival 2012

Your thoughts:

